By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Early voting under way
Polls open Saturday
Placeholder Image

Advance voting for the July 31 general primary is currently under way and continues through July 27.

According to Election Supervisor Glenda Ferguson, a total of 639 early votes were cast in a span of five days last week.

"The turnout for the first week is above average compared to 2008, which was the last primary of the same nature," she said on Monday.

The polls are open daily from 8 a.m.-5 p.m. Monday through Friday at the Dawson County Board of Elections office at 96 Academy Ave.

In addition, Dawson County voters will be able to cast ballots from 9 a.m.-4 p.m. Saturday at the election office.

This is the second Saturday this year in which voting is available due to a new state law.

The first Saturday voting took place on Feb. 25 for advance voting for the presidential preference primary.

Ferguson said about 75 voters turned out for the first Saturday voting and she expects an equal or greater number this Saturday.

Dawson County has more than 12,900 registered voters, which is down from recent years, according to Ferguson.

On July 31, all three voting precincts will be open from 7 a.m. -7 p.m.

The west precinct is located at Dawson County Fire Station 6 on Hubbard Road and the east precinct is located at Station 2 on Liberty Drive off of Hwy. 53 East.

The central precinct remains at the board of elections office. All municipal voters will also vote on the mayoral special election on July 31.

Registered voters must present one form of photo identification before voting. Those include: Georgia driver's license; valid state or federal government-issued photo ID; U.S. passport; U.S. military photo ID; tribal photo ID; or an employee photo ID from any federal, state or local government.

The Dawson County Web site advises voters who have questions to visit to find polling places, maps and more information.

For more information, call the elections office at (706) 344-3640.