BREAKING: Dawsonville man indicted on felony murder charge following wife’s 2023 death
The local man was initially booked for elder cruelty in March 2023.
Full Story
By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Dawson County Republican Party names new executive committee, delegates at county convention
I-Republican party.jpg
Members of the Dawson County Republican Party gathered at Fire Station No. 2 for the monthly meeting and county convention on March 9. - photo by For the Dawson County News

The Dawson County Republican Party met recently to discuss the coming year at its county convention.

The party met at Fire Station No. 2 March 9 to nominate and confirm new officers for the 2019-20 year, as well as to appoint delegates to represent the party at the District Convention.

The gathered members chose Seanie Zappendorf as the chairperson for the 2019-20 Dawson County Republican Party.

Also elected was Mike Berg as first vice chair, Pepper Pettit as second vice chair, Dale Smart as secretary, Katie Hulsebus as treasurer and Norman Samples as the committee member at large.

The precinct representatives chosen at the county convention were: Scott Yochum, east precinct; Greg Hicks, central precinct; and Gerald Swafford, west precinct.

The Ninth Congressional District Convention will held on April 13 at the Dillard House, located at 768 Franklin Street in Dillard.

The purpose of the district convention is to elect district level delegates and alternate delegates and to elect Ninth District chair, first vice chair, second vice chair, third vice chair, treasurer, assistant treasurer, secretary and assistant secretary.

The Georgia Republican Party State Convention will convene May 16-18 in Savannah to elect the Georgia State GOP Chair, first vice chair, second vice chair, treasurer, secretary and others.

Meetings for the Dawson County Republican Party are held at 7 p.m. on the second Monday of each month.

The next meeting is at 7 p.m. April 8 at the Bowen Center for the Arts, located at 334 Hwy. 9 North in Dawsonville.

The Dawson County Republican Party will be hosting featured guest speakers state Senator Steve Gooch and Representative Kevin Tanner who will provide information on the major legislative items during the session.

Light snacks and refreshments will be available at the reception with doors opening at 6:30 p.m.

For any questions or further information please contact Secretary, Dale Smart at (404) 456-8258 or Chairman, Seanie Zappendorf at (678) 643-9019.