Here’s when the Dawsonville Chick-fil-A will reopen its doors
Customers will soon be able to once again “eat mor chikin” from the Dawson County restaurant.
Full Story
By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Smith, Sosebee qualify for city election
Smith and Sosebee
Angie Smith and Mike Sosebee

Qualifying for two city council seats in the upcoming November election began at 8:30 a.m. on Monday and will continue through Thursday afternoon.

Current city council members Angie Smith and Mike Sosebee have qualified to run in the election, according to Glenda Ferguson, Dawson County Board of Elections chairwoman and election supervisor.

Smith and Sosebee currently hold the two seats up for re-election.

Smith is serving her second term. Sosebee held a seat on city council from 1980 to 2001. He was reelected for another term in 2004 and has served on the council since.

Steve Sanvi, a member of the city’s planning commission, has also announced his intention to run.

Qualifying for the municipal election will be held until Aug. 24 at the Board of Elections Office at 96 Academy Avenue in Dawsonville. Anyone eligible to qualify can do so between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m.

The qualifying fee is $180.

Council members are elected to four-year terms.

The current terms for council members Jason Power and Caleb Phillips, as well as Mayor James Grogan, will end Dec. 31, 2019.

The election will be held Nov. 7 at the county board of elections office.

According to Ferguson, there are currently 1,690 active registered voters in the city, with 151 registered inactive voters.