By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
City election qualifying begins next month
City of Dawsonville

Two Dawsonville city council seats are up for grabs in the upcoming general election, with qualifying starting next month.

Qualifying for the municipal election will be held from Aug. 21-24. Anyone wishing to qualify can do so on those dates between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m.

Council members on Jan. 9 voted to set the qualifying fee for a council seat at $180 for this year's election.

Council members are elected to four-year terms.

The two city council member seats up this year are currently held by Angie Smith and Mike Sosebee.

The current terms for council members Jason Power and Caleb Phillips, as well as Mayor James Grogan will end Dec. 31, 2019.

The election will be held Nov. 7 at the county board of elections office, at 96 Academy Ave. in Dawsonville.

According to Glenda Ferguson, Dawson County Board of Elections chairwoman and election supervisor, there are currently 1,690 active registered voters in the city, with 151 registered inactive voters.