By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Armstrong re-elected to Board of Education
Tanner takes house seat
Karen Armstrong mug

Incumbent Dawson County Board of Education member Karen Armstrong will keep her spot after beating challenger Joe Stapp in Tuesday's primary election.

Armstrong took 69.9 percent of the vote, with 1,869 votes to Stapp’s 806.

"I'm just very ecstatic and honored that the citizens of Dawson County voted to re-elect me," Armstrong said. "I plan to vie 150 percent again for the next four years. I'm humbled and appreciative of their support."

Armstrong holds the District 3 seat. This will be her second term on the board.

"I'm happy for Karen, she obviously ran a good campaign," Stapp said.

Uncontested on the ballot for the county were Sharon Fausett for District 1 Commissioner, Tim Satterfield for District 3 Commissioner and Will Wade for the Board of Education.

As of press time Tuesday night, Incumbent District 9 State Representative Kevin Tanner was leading the polls with 74.21 percent of the vote, while his opponent, newcomer Mark Hajduk, trailed with 25.79 percent of the vote.

Tanner took the lead in Dawson County with 81.01 percent of the vote and in Lumpkin County with 72.41 percent of the vote.

As of press time, the votes in Forsyth County had not been completely totaled, but showed Hajduk leading with 56.75 percent of the vote.

Kevin Tanner
Rep. Kevin Tanner, R-Dawsonville.

"I'm very thankful for all the support that has been shown to me over the past few months during this campaign," Tanner said Tuesday night. "I'm very excited and humbled by the results in Dawson County and Lumpkin, and am thankful for everyone who has shown out and shown strong support for me and all of my work at the state capital. I also want to thank all of the volunteers that have helped out over the past few months. I think Dawson and Lumpkin County sent out a pretty strong message."

This will be Tanner’s fourth term as a state representative.

As of press time, District 7 State Representative David Ralston had the lead on challenger Margaret Williamson at the Dawson County polls. Votes for Ralston totaled 75.41 percent in the county.

District 51 State Senator Steve Gooch ran unopposed.

Republican District 9 U.S. Representative Doug Collins, incumbent, ran unopposed and will face off in the general election against a Democratic candidate, either Dave Cooper or Josh McCall.

McCall won Dawson County with 57.82 percent of the vote.

Republican candidate for Governor Casey Cagle took 43.78 percent of the vote in Dawson County, leading by a large margin compared to contenders Hunter Hill (14.33 percent), Brian Kemp (25.76 percent), Clay Tippins (11.26 percent) and Michael Williams (4.83 percent).

Democratic Candidate for Governor Stacey Abrams prevailed in the county with 56.31 percent of the votes to Stacey Evans’ 43.69 percent.

Dawson County Board of Elections chairwoman Glenda Ferguson said around a total of 3,457 cards were cast in the primary election.

There are currently 17,290 active registered voters in the county, making voter turnout for Tuesday's election around 20 percent.

For details on the outcome of state and federal races visit