By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Walters named to first team
Walters pic
Madalyn Walters was named First Team All-Area by the Gainesville Times last week. Walters was runner-up in both the 1,600 and 3,200-meter races at the state track meet in Albany. - photo by File photo

Lady Tiger track star Madalyn Walters was named First Team All-Area by the Gainesville Times last week. Walters, a junior, captured the Region 8-AA 3,200-meter championship. She also finished in second place in the 1,600-meters during the region meet.

At the state meet in Albany, Walters was runner-up in the 3,200-meters with a time of 11:47 and she also crossed the finish line in second place in the 1,600-meters with a time of 5:21.

The 11:47 in the 3,200-meters event is a new Dawson County High School record.

Walters, the lone Dawson County representative at the state meet, picked up 16 team points after two days at the meet.

The season marked the third year that Walters has qualified for the state track meet. The previous two years she qualified in one event.

"I wasn't as nervous this year like in the past. I kept to my coach's game plan during the races and it turned out fine," she said.

Named track athlete-of-the-year was Erika Rucker from Flowery Branch. Rucker was AAA state and region champion in the 400-meters and 800-meters. Her times, 53.96 and 2:14 respectively, were the best times in all classes at the state meet.

Also making first team All-Area were: Maia Booker, West Hall; Vanessa Chaves, Chestatee; Maya Dillard, Buford; Jessie Dotson, White County; Sara Hayes, Gainesville; Raejeanna Jarrett, Flowery Branch; LeNiesha Kearse, West Hall; and Victoria Rogers, North Hall.

Second team All-Area athletes included: Jenny Arthur, Chestatee; KiKi Harris, Ganiesville; Gabrielle Hoffman, North Hall; Alisha Lee, North Hall; Katelyn Lewis, Chestatee; Lily Mather, Commerce; Kasey McDonald, Jefferson; Ryan Sharry, West Hall; Taylor Sims, Gainesville; and Tanisha Summerour, Habersham Central.

Honorable mention members were: Katie Adams, White County; Mia Buffington, Gainesville; Kinicka Coleman, Gainesville; Haley Gerrin, Habersham Central; Talasha Glasper, Gainesville; Haley Haynes, West Hall; Tiarra Hill, Gainesville; Alexis Lay, Gainesville; Taylor Long, West Hall; Denisha Lyles, Gainesville; Maggie McCoy, Banks County; Tribecca Mize, Gainesville; Tori Mullinax, Chestatee; Emily Robinson, Habersham Central; Laura Sangster, White County; Lauren Taronji, Jefferson; Aubree Van Winkle, Habersham Central; and Rachel York, Habersham Central.