By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Racing hall of fame inducts new class
Names local teen volunteer of the year
induction ceremony pic
Brandon Reed presents Cody Dinsmore with the 2012 Georgia Racing Hall of Fame Volunteer of the Year award Friday night during the groups annual induction ceremony. - photo by Michele Hester Dawson Community News

The Georgia Racing Hall of Fame celebrated its 2012 class of inductees Friday night in Dawsonville.

Selected for their contributions to Georgia's motorsport's heritage, the new class of inductees includes Pete Hamilton, Bill Ingram, Warren Johnson, Doug Kenimer and Herman Wise.

Also recognized during the ceremony were several individuals, including a local teen, for their work in preserving Georgia's racing history.

Cody Dinsmore, 16, of Dawsonville, was named the Georgia Racing Hall of Fame 2012 Volunteer of the Year.

On average, Dinsmore spends between 20 and 30 hours each week volunteering after school at the racing museum.

"Georgia's racing history is unique to our community. This is something I'll never get tired of," he said.

The racing hall of fame also announced Shane Clanton as the 2012 Driver of the Year, presented Capt. Herb Emory with the inaugural Jimmy Mosteller Award and awarded longtime supporter and racing historian Mike Bell with the Annie Dean Samples Spirit Award.