By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Racers take 26 first place ribbons
Swim Team pic 1
Swimmers wait in the “bull pen” during a recent home meet for the Dawsonville Racers swim team. - photo by Photo/Pam Jacobs

The Dawsonville Racers swim team captured 26 first place ribbons in a home meet held June 6 at Veteran’s Memorial Park. The team also took second place in over 25 events to cap off a well-run meet by Head Coach Stephanie Morgan.


Participating in the tri-meet were Hunters Chase and Cornerstone swim teams.


The teams don’t keep up with team points during the event. Ribbons are handed out only if a swimmer places in the top four in his or her age group and event.


Taking first place ribbons for Dawsonville were:  Michael Putlak (butterfly), Kaylee Barrett (freestyle, breast stroke and butterfly), Katie Gallamore (freestyle), Adrienne Hilchie (butterfly), Morgan Johnson (freestyle and breaststroke), Grace McMahon (backstroke), Zachary Gerrells (freestyle, backstroke, breaststroke and butterfly), Anna Spillane (freestyle), Rebecca Ellis (backstroke, breaststroke and butterfly), Belle Martinez-Amos (breaststroke), Charlie Reed (freestyle and backstroke), Taylor Barrett (freestyle, backstroke and butterfly) and Megan Spillane (freestyle).


Coming in second place were: Jackson Morgan (freestyle and breaststroke), Aidan Kudlas (backstroke), Grant McMahon (freestyle and breaststroke), Lauren Dare (breaststroke), Kaylee Barrett (backstroke), Katie Gallamore (breaststroke), Adrienne Hilchie (freestyle), Eve Perkins (freestyle, backstroke and butterfly), Morgan Johnson (backstroke), Andy Castleberry (freestyle and backstroke), Grace McMahon (breaststroke), Kara Starr (backstroke), Brittney Adams (freestyle, backstroke and breaststroke), Hayley Adams (freestyle, backstroke and butterfly), Logan Starr (freestyle), Peyton Allen (freestyle and backstroke), Charlie Reed (butterfly), Taylor Barrett (breaststroke), Jessica Collier (freestyle, backstroke and breaststroke), Rhys Adams (backstroke and butterfly) and Tyler Hilchie (butterfly).


The team will be back in action at their district meet July 11.