By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Lady Eagles crowned champs
RMS Girls Soccer pic1
The Riverview Middle School Lady Eagles celebrate after receiving their Mountain League Championship trophy March 27. - photo by For the Dawson Community News

The Riverview Middle School girls' soccer team defeated Dawson County Middle School, 1-0, to capture the Mountain League Championship on March 27.

The Lady Eagles were defeated twice, their only two losses of the season came against Dawson County Middle during the regular season. Both regular season games were hotly contested with Head Coach John Lundy's team losing 3-1 and 2-1.

Riverview reached the championship game with a 1-0 win over Fannin.

Playing with just 11 players, Riverview and Dawson were notched at 0-0 after regulation play.

Going into overtime, both defenses kept coming up big, keeping their opponents out of the goal.

With less than a minute left in overtime, Dawson County Middle was called for a penalty inside the box that gave Riverview a penalty kick. Lady Eagle Rachel Rajczak stepped up and kicked the ball between the hands of Lady Tiger goalie Marlie Hamby for the win.

"After losing both regular season games to DCMS, in close fashion, my girls knew that this was a game that they could win, but would have to give it everything they had," Coach Chris Lundy said. "There is a saying that talent wins games, but heart and determination wins championships and I can't think of something that better describes this team than that."

Lundy said several of his players really stepped up during the championship game.

"I thought that fullbacks Mackenzie Kimbral, Grace Sheer, Anna Dempsey and Anniston Caldwell, along with goalie Ashley Stanfill, played incredible, recording their 10th shutout this season," he said.

Riverview finished the season with a 10-2 record. Over the last five seasons, the Lady Eagles are 50-4-2, winning four of five championships.

Members of this year's championship team are: Laura Boliver, Ashley Stanfill, Bre Moody, Grace Sheer, Mackenzie Kimbral, Rachel Rajczak, Anniston Caldwell, Anna Lowe, Anna Dempsey, Abby Cotter, Mary Beth Ferris, Ruthie Pittman and Micaiah Jenkins.

Dawson County concluded the season with an 11-1 record.