By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Ladies are champions
Riverview girls outscore Dawson to take crownBy Pam Jacobs
MS Girls Soccer pic
Lady Eagle Emily Queen hits a cross against Dawson County Middle in the Mountain League Championship last Thursday. Riverview captured the championship with a 1-0 victory. - photo by Ryan Coker Dawson Community News

It took almost 57 minutes before the game was decided in the Mountain League Soccer championship game between Riverview and crosstown rival Dawson County last Thursday afternoon.

The Lady Eagles were awarded a hand ball penalty and capitalized when full back Tina Libao blasted a shot past the Lady Tiger goalie to score the lone goal of the game.

Riverview was crowned champions for the third consecutive year and extended its impressive record to 30-0-2 during that period.

The team has scored 169 goals and has given up only 6 goals in three years.

The Lady Eagles put up some impressive stats this season.

The team scored 53 goals this year, while giving up two to finish 9-0-2 on the season.

Dawson Middle finished the season with an 8-2-1 record. The Lady Tigers only two losses have come to Riverview.

"This was the toughest and most rewarding win over the last three years of our unbeaten streak," said head coach John Lundy. "The girls worked really hard for this one as it came down to two huge plays."

One of the big plays occurred with Lady Eagles goalie Madison Callas. Going one on one with a Dawson attacker, Callas was able to block a shot and then save the ball as it was rolling on the goal line.

The other big play was the handball penalty called against the Lady Tigers that led to Libao's winning goal.

"I couldn't be prouder of my team for their determination against an awesome Dawson team. I thought some of the key players in this game were center midfielder Emily Queen, fullback Ava Walker and forward Kat Ryerse."

Members of this year's team are: Queen, Laura Anne Branson, Isabella Elliot, Kelly Morris, Madison Callas, Mckenzie Rhodes, Libao, Makenzie Callas, Isabel Queen, Ryerse, Heather Brady, Anneka Byers, Allison Gilbert, Walker, Melanie Rimawi, and Taylor Anglin.