By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Putnam named first team
Placeholder Image

Jackson Putnam was named to the first team defense for football by The Times of Gainesville last week. Putnam was selected as a defensive back by The Times sports staff.

For Dawson County Head Coach Jeff Lee, Putnam had a great season. He accumulated 117 tackles and five interceptions on defense for the Tigers.

The team ended the season 5-5.

Named to the second team offense was Tiger fullback Cody Lamar. The senior running back amassed 901 yards on the ground with 10 touchdowns. Lamar also hauled 237 yards in receiving yards.

Nominated to the honorable mention team were: Tigers Keaton Toal, Sr., linebacker; Zach Buchan, Jr., quarterback and Corbin Thomas, Jr. offensive lineman.

Player-of-the-Year was Gainesville quarterback Deshaun Watson from Gainesville.

Coach-of-the-Year was Tony Lotti from West Hall.

Gainesville and Buford had five players each selected first team, followed by North Hall with three and White County and Jefferson with two players each.

Named to the first team All-Area offense were: Devin Watson (East Hall) quarterback; running backs Zac Cheshire (Chestatee), Michael Byrd (Gainesville), and Zac Little (North Hall); wide receivers Xavier Harper (Jackson County) and Jay Gaudlock (Gainesville); offensive lineman Nick Polino (Buford), Thomas Marchman (North Hall), Andrew Miles (Flowery Branch), Tony Patman (Commerce), and Jordan Tyler (Jefferson), tight end Hunter Atkinson (West Hall) and athletes Andrew Smith (North Hall) and Raleigh Beougher (Riverside).

Joining Putnam on the second team all-area defense were: defensive lineman Khalil Cantrell (Chestatee), Luther Jones (Union Co.), Donte Gordon (Buford), and Cody Humphries (Chestatee); linebackers Korie Rogers (Buford), Dalton Whitfield (White Co.), Devan Stringer (Gainesville), and Joshua Thomas (Buford); defensive backs Will Flowers (White Co.) and Thomas Wilson (Buford), kicker Gage Turner (Gainesville) and punter Dalton Hill (Jefferson).

Selected with Lamar for the second team offense were: quarterback Joseph Mancuso (Union Co.); running back Luis Hernandez (Johnson); wide receivers Johnathan Gilreath (Lumpkin Co.), Jacob Rogers (Union Co.), and Rodney Lackey (Gainesville); tight end Isaac Nauta (Buford); offensive lineman Justin Bacus (North Hall), Hunter Holland (Buford), Jesse Seabolt (White Co.); Rashaan Doleman (Flowery Branch), and Hayden Hughes (North Hall); athletes Jackson McDonald (Flowery Branch) and T.J. Skelton (Jefferson).

Second team all-area defense were: defensive linemen Sam Turner (White Co.), Shug Frazier (Buford), Colton Quinones (Gainesville) and Alan Silva (East Hall); linebackers William Fayson (Chestatee), Tradd Porter (Jefferson), Evan Breakspear (Jackson Co.), and Chase Barnett (Union Co.): defensive backs Lewis Cousins (Gainesville), Maurice Sutton (White Co.), Tyquan Statham (West Hall), and Quay Jarrells (East Hall); kicker Matt Bonadies (Buford) and punter Carmen Hicks (Banks Co.).