By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
FOOTBALL: The Tigers wrapped up their season with an awards ceremony, community recognition
Five of the six top varsity award winners stand on stage with their trophies. From left to right: Kade Moledor, Cade Adams, Christian Webb, Kevin Haymond, Kenny Nelson. (Simeon Welch not present) - photo by Rio White

After a season of success, the Dawson County football program capped off the year with an awards ceremony that recognized contributions from the varsity, junior varsity and freshman teams.

Awards were given for a variety of accomplishments, including performances from individual games, positional contributions, career achievements and leadership. 

The ceremony was started off by character coach Russell Davis, who described the team’s overarching identity before introducing two of the night’s unique awards.

(Story continues below)

For all the recognition of physical achievements, two members of the varsity football team earned awards based on their character throughout their careers. 

Senior defensive lineman Kevin Haymond received the Sandy Walls Award, which “is for a player who demonstrates being a team leader on and off the field, shows exceptional sportsmanship, and a productive member of the community.”

Senior wide receiver Doug Pagel won the George Moser Leadership Award, named after the late community coach who helped build character within the team for many years. 

In addition to the awards given for team contributions, the members of the varsity team who earned All-Region recognition were given plaques.

The remainder of the awards are as follows. 

Varsity Team Awards

Golden Helmet Award (Athletic Career) - Cade Adams

Team MVP -  Kade Moledor

Offensive Player of the Year - Simeon Welch

Defensive Player of the Year - Cade Adams

Athlete of the Year - Christian Webb

Lineman of the Year - Kevin Haymond

Impact Player of the Year - Kenny Nelson

Varsity Top Performers - Offense

Most Important Player - Hunter Casserleigh

Linemen - Briggs Weaver

Backs - Elijah Smith

Wide Receivers - Dom LeBlanc

Varsity Top Performers - Defense

Most Important Player - Tucker Caine

Outside Linebackers - Will Kurtz

Inside Linebackers - Alex Stewart

Secondary - Matt Bennett

Linemen - Colton Schuette

Junior Varsity

JV MVP - Preston Bannister

Offensive Tiger Award - Zach Cruz

Defensive Tiger Award - Luke Smith

Most Improved Offensive Player - Jacson Rickett

Most Improved Defensive Player - Elijah Odom

Freshman Team

Freshman MVP - Owen Wooten

Offensive Tiger Award - Jacob Felkai

Defensive Tiger Awards - Hunter Stroup

Most Improved Offensive Player - Nathan Martin

Most Improved Defensive Player - Brody Burks

Varsity Player of the Week

Vs. Jackson County - Alex Stewart

@ Lambert - Will Kurtz

@ North Hall - Matt Bennett

Vs. Stephens County - Matt Bennett

Vs. West Hall - Cade Adams

@ White County - Kade Moledor

Vs. Pickens County - Kade Moledor

@ Wesleyan - Kevin Haymond

Vs. Gilmer County - Kenny Nelson

@ Lumpkin County - Elijah Smith

Vs. Monroe Area - Elijah Smith