By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Eighteen Tigers make All-Region team; Holtzclaw named region’s Offensive Player of the Year
Zach Holtzclaw.jpg
Senior quarterback Zach Holtzclaw throws a pass against White County on Friday, Sept. 24. - photo by Jacob Smith

After making their fifth Sweet 16 in the 2021 GHSA football state tournament, the Dawson County Tigers had 18 players make the 7 3-A All-Region team, announced earlier this week. 

Senior quarterback Zach Holtzclaw was named the All-Region Offensive Player of the Year. Holtzclaw led a Tigers’ offense that scored 340 points, with 21 touchdowns accredited to Holtzclaw. 

Other than Holtzclaw, senior wide receiver Bailey Dameron was the other player on offense on the First Team for the Tigers. Dameron caught 61 passes for 1,092 yards and seven touchdowns. At the end of the regular season, Dameron was fifth in the entire state in receiving yards. 

The juniors on defense once again represented the Tigers, with four on the First Team. Defensive lineman Cade Adams and linebacker Kade Moledor repeated after finishing on the First Team in 2020 as well. Defensive lineman Kevin Haymond made the jump from honorable mention to First Team and defensive back Kenny Nelson appeared on the All-Region team after transferring in. 

Rounding out the seven Tigers on the first team is sophomore kicker Dominic LeBlanc, extending Dawson County’s streak of having the top kicker in the region to five years in a row. 

On the Second Team, senior running back and senior wide receiver Braedon Hubbard represent the offense. Dyer led the rushing offense with 666 rushing yards and Hubbard was the deep threat all season for the Tigers, averaging 24.4 yards per catch with six receiving touchdowns. 

Senior linebacker Will Whalen and senior defensive lineman AJ Moore both made the second team, alongside junior linebacker Matt Bennett. 

Seniors Logan Berry (defensive line), Jimmy Fallstrom (offensive line), Jackson Grinlde (running back) and Connor Scroggins (offensive line) were all honorable mentions, joined by junior defensive back Christian Webb and sophomore offensive lineman Briggs Weaver.