By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Get to Know: Arron Haynes
Placeholder Image

This article is the fourth of a summer series of "Get to Know" sessions with various high school and middle school coaches in Dawson County.

Each week a coach will be featured answering questions about their personal lives and coaching careers.

This interview is with 39-year-old Dawson County Coach Arron Haynes.

Haynes has been with Dawson County High School for the past 18 years. Haynes is currently the head coach for wrestling and track.

How many years have you been coaching and in what sports?

I have coached for 18 years. I have coached wrestling for 17 years, football for eight years and track.

How many years have you been a head coach at DCHS?

Track for 15 years, head coach for track for 12 years and wrestling head coach for 14 years.

What led you to become a wrestling and track coach?

I honestly became a wrestling and track coach by accident. I had friends that needed help so I joined up and never stopped. My intentions were to only coach football when I first started coaching.

Tell me about your teams.

I feel that my teams are made up of the best kids in the school. I have young men and women that have no quit in them and absolutely hate to lose. It is this drive and determination that has been a major contributor to their success.

Where did you grow up?

I grew up just outside of Oakwood, close to Johnson High School.

What high school did you attend? What sports did you play there? Did you receive any awards either academically or athletically?

I went to Johnson High School in Hall County where I played football, ran track (my senior year was cut short due to knee surgery), and wrestled my senior year only. My senior year I was named the offensive lineman of the year. I was also on the academic team and math team. I was in BETA, FCA and was the vice president of the National Honor Society. I graduated sixth in my class as an honor graduate.

What are your college degrees?

I have an Associates of Science from Gainesville College. Bachelors Degree in Education from The University of Georgia, Masters of Secondary Science Education from Piedmont College, as well as my gifted endorsement and advanced placement certification.

What do you teach at the high school?

I am primarily responsible for the advanced placement Biology and Zoology course, but I also pick up whichever other sciences are in need of a teacher.

What are your hobbies?

I like hiking, camping, kayaking, watching movies and hanging out with my dog, Maggie.

Tell me about Maggie.

Maggie is a Brindle Boxer that is about to turn 10 years old.

Tell me one thing that people don't know about you.

I don't know that there is a lot that people don't know, however they are often surprised to find out that I have never been married nor have children. I think people just assume that all teachers are married.

What are your goals as a coach?

As a coach my goals have always been to help mold and shape young men and women that will go on to make our community a better place. Along the way we have been blessed with success in both sports, so I guess something is working right.

How long do you think you will coach?

I will coach until it is time to walk away. Right now we have some great things going on in both programs and I plan to continue the Dawson County tradition of winning with character.

What do you like best about coaching and/or teaching at DCHS?

I absolutely love the kids and the community. In the classroom I am left alone to teach my classes, but given the support I need.

I have wooded areas and trails behind the school to move the classroom outdoors for true exploration and discovery by students rather than constant memorization.

On the mat and the field I have hard working individuals that take pride in themselves and the community. I also have great people in the community that volunteer their time to help our programs and our county's youth.

If you could do one thing in life, what would it be?

I think at the moment I am doing what I love in life so I have fulfilled this question.

When you retire from coaching and/or teaching what would you like to do?

To be honest, I cannot picture myself not teaching or coaching. I guess I will get a lot more miles in on the lake or on the trails. I would like to eventually complete the Appalachian Trail at some point. I would like to travel more also. As a coach I really do not have summers off, like regular teachers have due to practices.

What is your favorite college team and why?

The University of Georgia, because they are the best.