Two others accused in alleged armed robbery linked to Hannah Bender murder case
Two people charged in Hannah Bender’s 2019 murder case, Isaac Huff and Bailey Williams, were recently accused of being parties to an alleged armed robbery in which Austin Todd Stryker was also implicated.
Full Story
By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Davenport recognized
Davenport pic
Tiger senior Rush Davenport was named All-Area Honorable Mention by the Gainesville Times last week. - photo by File photo

Tiger senior track athlete Rush Davenport was named to the Gainesville Times honorable mention All-Area team last week.

Davenport set several records while at Dawson County High School.

In the Region 8-AA meet held at Jefferson High School in April, Davenport competed in the 200-meter, 400-meter, 4x100 relay and 4x400-meter relay.

The senior Tiger finished in third place, barely missing out on the state meet, in the 400-meters with a time of 51.68. He also crossed the finish line in fourth in the 200-meters with a time of 23.20.

During the end-of-year banquet, Davenport was named Best Runner by Head Coach Arron Haynes.

Joining Davenport on the honorable All-Area team were: Vadal Alexander,Buford; Austin Allen, Habersham Central; Drew Bryant, North Hall; Gage Bolden, Riverside; Patrick Chapell, North Hall; Micah Eason, Commerce; Jamal English, Buford; John Gagnon, Habersham Central; Jacob Fortner, North Hall; Kyhrie Harris, Commerce; James Howard, Jefferson; Abner McCright, Banks County; Carson Newman, Jefferson; Randy Olson, North Hall; Terrick Ramsey, Commerce; Zach Rhyneer, Habersham Central; Nate Simon, North Hall; Josh Simpson, Buford; Kyle Stacey, Johnson; Chase Yarbrough, North Hall; Fernando Weiner, Riverside; and Jamond Witt, East Hall.

Named track athlete-of-the-year was Cody Barger from North Hall. The senior Trojan was region and state champion in AAA in both the 1,600 and 3,200-meters runs.

Also named first team All-Area were: Tyler Armour from Chestatee. Armour finished in fourth place in the state AAA, competing in the pole vault.

Tarvin Dukes a senior from Riverside Military Academy, discus; Austin Eckenroth from Flowery Branch, won the state championship in the pole vault reaching a height of 15'1."

Brandon Lawson, North Hall and Kerry Mata, East Hall, also made the list.

Mata won the state championship in the 300-hurdles. C.J. Moore, Buford, state champion in the 100-meter and second in state in the 4x100 relay.

As well as, Maurice Riden, Flowery Branch and Wesley Wong, Habersham Central.

Second team All-Area went to: Michael Forston, Buford; Drew Garland, Flowery Branch; Desmond Hamilton, Gainesville; Bill McCoy, Riverside; Jason McCurday, West Hall; Trey McKeithen, Gainesville; Josh Pendley, West Hall; Steven Pluhar, Riverside; Ben Satterfield, North Hall; and Kenny Slavik, Flowery Branch.