By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Here’s what to expect on primary runoff election day
Elections office
The Dawson County Board of Elections and Voter Registration serves as the county's Central Precinct and sits at 96 Academy Avenue in Dawsonville. - photo by Julia Hansen

Following a hotly contested primary in May, Dawson County voters will have another chance to have their voices heard when a runoff election is held on June 21 for multiple state and federal seats.

People who voted in the May 24 primary must choose the same ballot choice for the runoff. Eligible voters who did not participate in the primary can choose to cast the party ballot of their choice in the runoff. A photo I.D. is the only requirement when voting. 

People who choose Republican ballots will be able to vote for either veteran and Dr. Rich McCormick or lawyer Jake Evans for the U.S. House District 6 seat. The winner of the runoff will compete against Democrat Bob Christian in the Nov. 8 general election.

Voters selecting Democratic ballots can vote in the following races: 

  • Lieutenant governor: Kwanza Hall vs. Charlie Bailey

  • Secretary of state: Bee Nguyen vs. Dee Dawkins-Haigler

  • Insurance commissioner: Janice Laws Robinson vs. Raphael Baker

  • Labor commissioner: William Boddie vs. Nicole Horn

The winners in those runoff races will compete against their respective Republican counterparts in the general election.

Advance and day-of voting

People can request absentee ballots for the June 21 primary. The last day to request a ballot is Friday, June 10. 

Those who want to vote early in-person may do so the week of June 13-17. Polls will be open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. that week at the Central Precinct, which is the Dawson County Board of Elections & Voter Registration Office located at 96 Academy Avenue. 

Runoff Election Day is Tuesday, June 21, with polls open at the county’s Central, Eastern and Western precincts from the standard 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. 

  • Central Precinct: Dawson County Elections & Voter Registration Office, 96 Academy Ave.

  • Eastern Precinct: Dawson County Fire & EMS station no. 2 at 145 Liberty Drive. It’s on Highway 53 east of Ga. 400 N, just past the Tractor Supply.

  • Western Precinct: Dawson County Fire Station no. 6 at 2142 Hubbard Road


Each person must vote at their assigned precinct on Election Day. For more information, please consult the Dawson County website at