By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
SPLOST VII early voting now underway in Dawson County
vote stock

Early voting is now underway for the seventh installment of Dawson County’s Special Purpose Local Option Sales Tax — SPLOST VII.

With approved project lists from both the Dawson County Government and the city of Dawsonville, but no intergovernmental agreement between the two parties, the $60 million, 6-year penny sales tax continuation will go before voters in a specially called election on March 16, 2021.  

Early voting for the special election began on Monday, Feb. 22, 2021, and will last until Friday, March 12. Local voters can vote early at the Dawson County Board of Elections office, 96 Academy Avenue in Dawsonville, from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday.

All local polls will be open on election day, March 16, from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. 

On the first two days of early voting, the Dawson County Board of Elections reported that only 75 Dawson County residents had cast their votes on SPLOST VII. 

For those wishing to vote by absentee ballot, Dawson County Elections Director Glenda Ferguson said that voters must request a ballot prior to March 12 and that people should take into account mailing times to return their ballot. 

For more information about your polling location, how to request a ballot and to view a sample ballot, visit the “My Voter Page” at or call (706) 344-3640.