By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Runoff advance voting continues through July 20
FAYI election

sample ballot 7.24.18

Advance voting for the July 24 runoff primary election runs through July 20.

Voting will be held from 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. Monday through Friday at the Board of Elections Office at 96 Academy Avenue in Dawsonville.

There will be no Saturday voting.

The runoff will be held from 7 a.m. - 7 p.m. July 24 at assigned voting precincts.

Republican runoffs will be held for the offices of governor, lieutenant governor and secretary of state.

Brian Kemp, Georgia’s current Secretary of State, will face off against Lt. Gov. Casey Cagle for the Republican nomination for governor. The winner of this runoff will go against Democrat Stacey Abrams, who secured her party’s position in May, in November’s election.

State Rep. Geoff Duncan from Cumming and State Sen. David Shafer from Duluth are competing for the Republican nomination for lieutenant governor. Sarah Riggs Amico, a businesswoman who lives in Kennesaw, is the Democratic nominee for that position.

Former Alpharetta Mayor David Belle Isle and Brad Raffensperger, a businessman who lives in Johns Creek, are on the Republican ballot for secretary of state. Former Congressman John Barrow, a Democrat from Athens, will run against the runoff winner in November. 

The Democratic ballot for the July 24 runoff will only have one position. Sid Chapman and Otha Thornton are both running for state school superintendent. Richard Woods, the current superintendent, will be running again as a Republican.

sample ballot 7.24.18 1

Those who did not vote in the May primary will be able to vote in the runoff. If you voted in the primary you cannot switch party ballots.