UPDATE: Here’s what new Congressional district proposals mean for Dawson County
What do you think about the redistricting proposal?
Full Story
By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
New draft agreement between Pickens and Dawson counties shows Pickens will operate Station 8
Fire station 8
Fire Station No. 8 is currently operated as a Dawson County station off Monument Road.
The Dawson County Board of Commissioners on Thursday will hear a presentation of a new proposed intergovernmental agreement between Pickens and Dawson counties regarding the operation of Fire Station No. 8 off Monument Road in Dawson County. If the new intergovernmental agreement, or IGA, is ratified by both entities, the station will come under the operation of Pickens County and no longer be operated by Dawson County, which has operated the station since it was constructed in 2009. Originally, Pickens County acquired the land and built the station, providing insurance for the building and liquefied petroleum gas to heat the station. Dawson County then assumed operation of the station as a substation of Dawson County Emergency Services, providing fire apparatus, administrative support and electricity as well as obtaining necessary compliance certification from the Georgia Firefighters Standards and Training Council. The original IGA also stated that Dawson County “shall provide training, equipment, and workers compensation insurance for a maximum of (10) volunteer firefighters to serve the station.”