By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Special election results
Placeholder Image

The polls have closed and Dawson County results are in for the special election for the District 9 U.S. House seat.

With all three of Dawson County's  precincts reporting (Central, East and West), along with the absentee ballots, the votes are as follows:


* Chris Cates, Republican -- 267 votes


* Mike Freeman, Democrat -- 95 votes


* Tom Graves, Republican -- 552 votes


* Lee Hawkins, Republican -- 343 votes


* Bert Loftman, Republican -- 183 votes


* Eugene Moon, Independent -- 30 votes


* Bill Stephens, Republican -- 63 votes


* Steve Tarvin, Republican -- 154 votes

The 9th District includes some or all of 15 counties in North Georgia.


In Dawson County, 1,691 of the 12,506 registered voters cast ballots, accounting for a 13.52 percent turnout.