By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Officials will be sworn in to office Tuesday
Placeholder Image

The county's newest elected officials will be sworn into office Tuesday at the Dawson County Government Center.

Probate Judge Jennifer Burt will administer the oath of office to Board of Education newcomer Karen Armstrong and District 1 Commissioner-elect Sharon Fausett at 2 p.m. in the assembly room on the second floor.

Both women will take office on Jan. 1.

Armstrong was elected to her first term during the July 31 Primary Election and faced no opposition for the Nov. 6 General Election.

A native of north Georgia, Armstrong is currently employed as the administration officer at the University of North Georgia's Military Science Department.

She previously held the position as the assistant registrar at the Dawson County Board of Elections and has held numerous volunteer positions, such as PTSO President for Dawson County Middle School, a founding member of Dawson County High School PTSO in 2009 and an overall PTSO member since 2006.

She will be replacing 25-year board of education veteran Cecil Bennett following his term that wraps up at the end of the month.

Fausett, 63, replaces two-term commissioner Gary Pichon, who chose not to seek re-election.

She was the top vote getter in the Republican primary, taking more than 58 percent of the vote over runner-up Corey Gutherie's 24.7 percent and Kevin Ellison, who received 16.8 percent of the vote.

A former teacher, Fausett served as director for the Dawson County Department of Family and Children Services for nearly a decade.

She also ran several businesses along with husband Danny and currently operates an agritourism destination on the county's west side.

She has also served on the county tax assessor's board, as well as the comprehensive land-use committee.

District 3 Commissioner Jimmy Hamby and board of education member Will Wade will also be sworn-in for their new terms during the ceremony.

The public is invited to attend the swearing-in ceremony.