Missing person alert issued for this Forsyth County man
BOLO: This motorcyclist hasn't been seen since he was on his way back to Forsyth County on Saturday.
Full Story
By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Former state legislator announces run for District 9 seat
Clint Smith
Clint Smith

Clint Smith, former chairman of the Dawson County Republican Party and Georgia State House Representative announced on Friday that he would be seeking election to the State House District 9 legislative seat.

“After much prayer and consultation with family, friends, local elected officials and current legislators, I feel that it is my responsibility to serve and offer an experienced, true conservative option who will be a voice for the people and not the trial lawyers and the banking industry," Smith said in a press release. "My track record of conservative principles speaks for itself.” 

 A longtime Republican activist, Smith served in the Georgia House of Representatives for eight years from 1995-2003.

District 9, which has been held by State Rep. Kevin Tanner (R-Dawsonville) for four terms, represents portions of Lumpkin, Dawson and Forsyth counties.

In his announcement, Smith said that he would be focusing on job growth, education, senior citizens and agriculture as his main campaign issues. 

"I feel that we need a seamless transition after Representative Tanner’s term ends and due to my experience, I am the most logical choice for voters," Smith said. 

Smith now joins four other candidates, including Dawson County Board of Education member Will Wade, north Georgia attorneys, Steven Leibel and Zachary Tumlin, and Lumpkin County land surveyor Doug Sherrill in the District 9 race. 

Qualifying for the Georgia House District 9 seat and other upcoming races will begin in early March.