By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
First Dawson County sheriffs debate set for Thursday
Placeholder Image
The first planned debate for candidates vying to be Dawson County's next sheriff will be held tomorrow at McKee's Chapel. Organized and moderated by retired deputy Mickey Gilbertson, the forum will give voters an opportunity to learn about the four candidates who have announced their intentions to seek the office currently held by four-term Sheriff Billy Carlisle, who will not seek reelection. Those running are: Maj. Jeff Johnson, commander of the Dawson County Jail; Jeff Perry, retired chief parole officer for the state of Georgia; Frank Sosebee, chief of security for the Hall County Correctional Institution; and Capt. Tony Wooten, Dawson County Sheriff's public information officer and community policing program supervisor.