Missing person alert issued for this Forsyth County man
BOLO: This motorcyclist hasn't been seen since he was on his way back to Forsyth County on Saturday.
Full Story
By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Dawsonville mayor elected to state municipal association board
Mayor James Grogan MUG

Dawsonville Mayor James Grogan was recently elected to the Georgia Municipal Association board of directors during the group's annual meeting in Savannah June 27.

Grogan will serve as first vice president of the second district, which includes cities in Banks, Dawson Forsyth, Franklin, Habersham, Hall, Hart, Lumpkin, Rabun, Stephens, Towns, Union and White counties.

"We are pleased to have Mayor Grogan taking on this leadership position," said Executive Director Lamar Norton. "He's well respected by his colleagues, and I'm sure he'll provide great leadership to the cities in his district."

Grogan said the organization continues to play a vital role in supporting Dawsonville.

"Their help with our retirement and revenue opportunities has been very beneficial. They helped us in our operating efficiencies, with the addition an IT program designed for specific government needs, which we use," he said. "They advocate for us at the legislature each year during session heavily and also during the year.

"We are informed on news related to all the local governments, training events of which I have over 220 hours and grants that would help in any of our service responsibilities."

Based in Atlanta, the Georgia Municipal Association is a voluntary, non-profit organization that provides legislative advocacy, educational, employee benefit and technical assistance services to its 520 member cities.