By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
County names new planning commission
Placeholder Image

The new year has brought new members to the county planning commission. All four planning board members, as well as the chair, had terms that ended in December, requiring new appointments for 2016.

The new members were appointed by the four commissioners and the chairman during the Jan. 12 work session.

District 1 Commissioner Sharon Fausett appointed Jason Hamby as her primary pick and Haynes Johnson as her alternate.

District 2 Commissioner Chris Gaines appointed John Maloney as his primary pick and Jeff Looper as alternate.

District 3 Commissioner Jimmy Hamby appointed Tim Bennett as his primary pick and Joan Gibbs as his alternate.

District 4 Commissioner Julie Hughes appointed Neil Hornsey as her primary pick and MIke Miller as her alternate.

Chairman Billy Thurmond appointed John Dooley as his primary pick and has yet to decide on an alternate.

The board also announced that the terms of the planning commission members will align with the terms of the commission members that appointed them. This will keep the terms staggered.
The new planning commission met for the first time on Jan. 17.

The commission also went into executive session for much of the day Jan. 12 in order to interview applicants for the county attorney position.

On Jan. 13 Chairman Billy Thurmond said that the commission is still looking for more information to come in and had nothing further to say regarding the search for a potential in-house attorney.