By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Youth award winners chosen
HOBY Winners pic
Dawson County High School sophomores Shea Barfield, far left, and Brandon DeBlois were presented the Hugh OBrian Youth Leadership organization awards last week at the Dawson County school board meeting. April Eubanks was chosen as an alternate for the HOBY leadership conference. - photo by For the Dawson Community News

Local winners of the Hugh O’Brian Youth Leadership award were announced at a Dawson County school board meeting last week.


Winners included Dawson County High School sophomores Shea Barfield and Brandon DeBlois.


Barfield is an honor roll student and a member of Beta Club. She is the founder and director of Dawson County High School’s Improv Club, a member of the Student Film Club, the Fiction Writers’ Club. She is also active in drama.


DeBlois is an honor roll student, most valuable freshman band member and is part of marching band. He is also in Drama Club, Improv Club and Film Club. He interned at Physician’s Immediate Med.


Those chosen for the accolade demonstrate the values of volunteerism, integrity, excellence and community partnership.


The Dawson County Woman’s Club will provide all fees for the students to attend the Georgia Hugh O’Brian Youth Leadership Conference.


Sophomore April Eubanks will serve as an alternate if Barfield or DeBlois cannot attend the conference.


Eubanks is an honor roll student, has been student of the month, a member of Beta Club, FFA and FBLA. She is also a volunteer at Dawson County Humane Society.


According to its Web site, the mission of the Hugh O’Brian Youth Leadership organization is to inspire and develop a global community of youth and volunteers to a life dedicated to leadership, service and innovation.