By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Teachers recognized for dedication to students
I-Teacher appreciation luncheon pic
The Dawson County Chamber of Commerce recognized the countys teachers of the year during its monthly luncheon last week. - photo by David Renner Dawson Community News

Dawson County recently took a moment to recognize some of its most dedicated teachers.

The Dawson County Chamber of Commerce dedicated its monthly membership luncheon to the Dawson County School System Teachers of the Year.

"This is always one of our favorite lunches every year," said Chamber President Christie Haynes. "We often talk about the impact that our teachers have on us and that we remember our favorite teachers. We just want to thank the teachers that support our students every day."

Every year, a teacher from each school is selected by their peers to be the teacher of the year. This year, the following teachers were selected: Natosha Beary, Black's Mill Elementary; Jennifer Fuller, Kilough Elementary; Kathy Hanofee, Riverview Elementary; Lisa Bessiere , Robinson Elementary; Kim Dutton, Dawson County Middle School; Ellen Harrison, Riverview Middle; Spencer Wright, Dawson County High; and Nikki Kenny, Hightower Academy.

Jennifer Fuller was also the system teacher of the year.

"We have over 300 teachers in our district, 8 teachers of the year and only one system teacher of the year," said Dawson County School Superintendent Damon Gibbs. "When you look at those numbers and look at what it takes to be named, it's a huge honor. I know all of these teachers are very deserving."

Gibbs said that these recognitions were easily among his favorite things to do as superintendent.

"Honoring our staff is one of my favorite things to do," he said. "Very few times do we get the opportunity to be recognized by our peers. Teacher of the year is a very important thing."