BREAKING: Dawsonville man indicted on felony murder charge following wife’s 2023 death
The local man was initially booked for elder cruelty in March 2023.
Full Story
By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Teacher of the Year celebrated at luncheon
E-Teacher of the Year luncheon pic 1.jpg
(Left to Right) Dawson County Chamber President Christie Moore, Hilda Jackson, Jessie Venem, Cindy Bennett, Jennifer Stowers, Paola Epstein, Chris Lundy, Carolyn Wright, Dawson County Chamber Board Chair, Mandy Power, Northside Hospital Forsyth Administrator, Lynn Jackson. - Photo for the Dawson County News
Seven of Dawson County’s educators were honored Monday at the annual Teachers of the Year luncheon hosted by the Dawson County Chamber of Commerce. Honorees included Jessie Venem, Black’s Mill Elementary School; Carolyn Wright, Kilough Elementary School; Chris Lundy, Riverview Elementary School; Jennifer Stowers, Robinson Elementary School; Cindy Bennett, Dawson County Middle School; Hilda Jackson, Dawson County Junior High School; and Paola Epstein, Dawson County High School. Epstein, a foreign language teacher, is also the School District Teacher of the Year. The teachers were nominated by their colleagues and interviewed by an external committee to determine a system winner, according to Lisa Perry, chief human resources officer for Dawson County Schools.