By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Local students to receive statewide Walter Harrison Scholarship
DCN Generic school bus
Austin Pitchford of Dawsonville and Emily Robinson of Jasper were recently named two of the 11 winners of the Walter Harrison Scholarship. The Walter Harrison program is sponsored by the electric co-ops in Georgia, including Amicalola EMC. Recipients were chosen by the selection committee based on their academic achievements, extracurricular activities and their service to their community. This year, Pitchford and Robinson competed against 75 other students from across Georgia who applied for the scholarship, which provides $1,000 to help offset the rising costs associated with obtaining a two- or four-year college degree.