By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Future educators honored by Dawson County School System with virtual signing ceremony
Virtual signing
On May 19, a virtual signing ceremony was held to honor 19 graduating Dawson County High School students who plan to pursue a degree in education.

In a virtual ceremony on May 19, the Dawson County High School system celebrated it’s graduating seniors who will pursue a degree in education during the coming years.

The school system’s signing ceremony is typically held in person, but due to the COVID-19 pandemic this year’s event was held entirely virtually, with each senior in their own home receiving recognition via a video meeting room. 

“It kind of stinks we had to do it this way, but these kids are great kids and they deserved some recognition,” Amy Smith, CTAE director for Dawson County High School, said.

The ceremony included a message from Assistant Superintendent of Teaching and Learning Nicole Lecave and remarks from DCHS counselors, as well as other leadership and administration staff. Students had the opportunity to share where they are attending college and what degree they are planning to pursue. 

“I know most of these students were in the work-based learning program this year, and wherever you were placed in the school system they have sung your praises about how wonderful each of you been in the classroom and with the students, and I know that each one of you will make a great teacher,” school system staff member Kristy Moore said. 

The ceremony closed out with remarks by Michael Negley, who was recently appointed as the new principal for Dawson County High School. 

“I am so incredibly proud of you. I am wrapping up my 19th year of education and even though I’m out of the classroom and up in the front in administration now, I’ll always be a teacher,” Negley said. “I truly believe that those of us who teach, are called to teach. It’s too important, and too hard of a job for it not to be a calling and I think it is wonderful that you guys are starting on this journey.”

The seniors recognized during the ceremony include: 

  • Chesney Bottoms
  • Whitney Brooks
  • Jacquelyn Conner 
  • Chris Garrett
  • Mattie Grant
  • Matthew Griffin
  • Riley Herndon
  • Brody Howell
  • Molly Kirk
  • Lexis Painter
  • Elizabeth Lessard
  • Kaselyn Martin
  • Kennedy Mays 
  • Ben McGinnis
  • Tayler Mullenburg
  • Trinity Nichols
  • Abby Sanders
  • Luke Wilkie
  • Avery Young