By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Sosebee, Smith win council seats
Placeholder Image

Unofficial results for Dawson County in the Nov. 6, 2012 general election are in.

In the city council race, Mike Sosebee and Angie Smith were the top two candidates to fill the empty seats vacated by Mayor James Grogan and former councilman Calvin Byrd. Sosebee had 34.41 percent of the vote, and Smith came in with 30.12 percent. Frank Craft, Alan Metzel and Tom Schaide came in third, fourth and fifth, respectively.

For the new U.S. House, District 9 seat, Dawson voters went with Republican Doug Collins over Democrat challenger Jody Cooley. Collins won with 84.74 percent of the vote in the county. District-wide, Collins took 76.21 percent of the vote.

While President Barack Obama won the seat nationally, Republican challenger Mitt Romney won the state of Georgia with 53.4 percent, while winning Dawson County with 86.41 percent of the vote.

State Amendment #1, regarding the creation of charter schools, also won in both the state and county, with 59.26 percent of Dawson voters saying "yes" to the amendment. It won by 58.5 percent in the statewide vote.