By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Early voting begins Monday
Placeholder Image

Early voting for the upcoming city of Dawsonville elections begins Monday, Oct. 17.

The early voting period will be held at the Dawson County Board of Elections - located at 96 Academy Avenue - and will run Monday-Friday during regular office hours from 8 a.m.-5 p.m.

Six citizens have thrown their names into the hat for the upcoming City of Dawsonville election. The mayors seat and two council positions are up for grabs this November.

The incumbents - Mayor Joe Lane Cox and council members Mike Sosebee and Mike Wilson - have all entered their respective races. Frank Craft, Chris Gaines and Jason Power also have entered the race for the council seats.

Cox will run unopposed this November, barring a certified write-in candidate, as no other candidate qualified last week. The two council member seats will be awarded to the two top vote-getters in the upcoming election.

The general election for the three offices will be held from 7 a.m.-7 p.m. Tuesday, Nov. 8, at the Dawson County Board Elections and Voter Registration.