UPDATE: Here’s what new Congressional district proposals mean for Dawson County
What do you think about the redistricting proposal?
Full Story
By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Annual gala honors chambers members
3 Chamber Gala pic
County Attorney Joey Homans, left, swears in new board officers 2016 Chair-elect Steve Melching, Secretary-Treasurer Mandy Power and Chairwoman Carla Boutin during the Chamber of Commerces 24th Annual Gala.

Despite the blustering winds and snow flurries last Friday, the Dawson County Chamber of Commerce celebrated business in the style of the roaring 20s.

"Despite the winter weather, we had terrific attendance and there were smiles all around," said Chamber President Christie Haynes. "It was great to see many individuals embrace our ‘Roaring Twenties' theme."

The chamber held its 24th annual gala at the Georgia Racing Hall of Fame on Feb. 20. Attendees came out in flapper dresses, feather boas and three-piece suits - some complete with fedora - to celebrate commerce in Dawson County.

"We are thrilled with last Friday's 24th annual chamber gala," she said. "We look forward to this event all year round as it brings together our members and community leaders to celebrate accomplishments and fellowship with one another."

The gala is a time when the chamber recognizes outstanding volunteers and members of the business community, as well as share goals for the upcoming year.

Six awards were handed out at that event.

The Philanthropic Business of the Year award was given to Dawsonville Gun and Pawn.

Debbie Campbell was announced as the Outstanding New Member for 2015, while David Jordan was awarded the Jim Wallace Volunteer of the Year award.

The Linda Williams Ambassador of the Year award went to Nicole Stewart.

The Chairman's Award was presented to Jennifer Baker, and Jeremy Porter was announced as the Don Gordon Business Leader of the Year award recipient.

The event also serves as the evening when new chamber officers are sworn in to duty.

Carla Boutin and Steve Melching were sworn in as chair and chair-elect for 2015. Mandy Power was sworn in as secretary-treasurer.

"Our chamber was truly honored to present awards to Dawsonville Gun & Pawn, Debi Campbell, David Jordan, Nicole Stewart, Jennifer Baker and Jeremy Porter- these individuals and the businesses/organizations they represent truly serve as role models for our community," Haynes said.