By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Second election recount completed in Dawson County with no changes

Election officials in Dawson County have completed a second recount of votes cast in the 2020 general election and report that no changes have been made to the count. 

On Wednesday afternoon, Glenda Ferguson, Director of Dawson County Board of Elections and Registration said that the recount was completed that morning and the county’s final numbers have been uploaded to the Georgia Secretary of State. 

Like the previous recount, which was ordered by the secretary of state in November,  the count in Dawson County has not changed since election day, Ferguson said. 

During this second recount, Dawson County Board of Elections workers, witnessed by election monitors, re-scanned all paper ballots cast in the Dawson County through election machines. The first recount was a risk-limiting audit, which checked whether computers tabulated election results correctly.

After polls closed on election day, officials reported that 16,146 Dawson County residents cast ballots in the election, 75 percent of the county’s 21,529 eligible voters. 

Donald Trump carried Dawson County in the election, earning 13,398 of the votes cast. Democrat challenger Joseph R. Biden received 2,486 votes, while Libertarian candidate Jo Jorgensen received 197 votes. 

The statewide margin for the presidential election was much narrower, according to data reported by the Secretary of State’s office. Biden received approximately 49.5 percent of votes cast in Georgia, 2,472,050 votes to Trump’s 49.24 percent, 2,457,895 votes.  

Counties in Georgia have until noon on Friday to certify their results from the recount. Recount results will be uploaded to the secretary of state’s website as they are completed.