View Mobile Site
  • Bookmark and Share

Early voting begins for runoff election

POSTED: November 30, 2008 5:00 a.m.

Early voting began Tuesday in Dawson County for the Dec. 2 runoff election in three statewide races.


Early and advance voting will be available 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. through Nov. 26 at the Dawson County Elections and Registration Office, 462 Memory Lane, Suite 150.


Due to the Thanksgiving holiday, the elections office will be closed Nov. 27-28.


Voters who registered to vote by the October deadline for the Nov. 4 general election can participate in the runoff election even if they did not cast ballots in the Nov. 4 election.


Those who wish to get a paper absentee ballot to mail in - which must be postmarked by Dec. 2 - are urged to do so as soon as possible, according to the Georgia Secretary of State’s Web site.


All of Dawson County’s voting precincts will be open 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Dec. 2.


The following races are on the ballot in Dawson County:


U.S. Senate between incumbent Republican Saxby Chambliss and his Democratic challenger Jim Martin.


Georgia State Appeals Court between Sara Doyle and Mike Sheffield in a nonpartisan race.


Georgia Public Service Commission, Northern District, between Republican Lauren W. McDonald Jr. and Democrat Jim Powell.


  • Bookmark and Share

Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.



Please wait ...