View Mobile Site
  • Bookmark and Share

Seniors honored

55 recognized at banquet

POSTED: May 31, 2011 4:00 p.m.
Pam Jacobs Dawson Community News/

Lady Tiger softball player Cheyenne Bennett shakes the hand of boys basketball coach Thad Burgess during the senior letterman’s banquet last week.

View Larger
View More »

Fifty-five seniors were honored at the Senior Letterman banquet held in the Dawson County High School Commons Area May 24.
Of the 55 seniors, 31 are honor graduates this year.
This year's Valedictorian, Amanda Florentine, was also a senior athlete.
The annual event is the culmination of four long years of hard work by the athletes.
Dawson County High School Athletic Director Grady Turner welcomed the board of education, administration of Dawson County High, and guests to the event.
This year the school's coaching staff picked a letter in the word S.E.N.I.O.R.
Six assistant coaches then used their assigned letter to give words of encouragement and inspiration to each athlete.
Turner asked all coaches to come forward and form a line to say their final goodbyes to each of the 55 seniors gathered.
Coaches on this year's staff were: Jamey Bearden, Thad Burgess, Ryan Coker, Brian DeRose, Benjy Edwards, Wes Greer, Andrew Grigsby, Melissa Ham, Chess Hamby, Arron Haynes, Leslie Howard, Anne Hyams, John Kenny, Jed Lacey, Jeff Lee, Chris Lundy, John Lundy, Doug Miolen, Steven Moates, Jimmy Pruett, Michael Pruitt, Mark Ragsdale, Nickie Rogers, Van Samples and Steve Sweat.
Community coaches were: Matt Castleberry, George Graves, George Moser, Noel Poisson, Gary Wilson and Dane Trusterud.
Turner presented Coach-of-the-Year awards to coaches and the Sandy Walls Memorial Award to a student. Winning the assistant Coach-of-the-Year award was Chris Lundy. Head Coach-of-the-Year went to Brian DeRose.
Three sport athlete, Ethan Brown, was presented the Sandy Walls Memorial award. Brown lettered in football, basketball, and soccer for Dawson County. He will extend his career by playing football at The Cumberlands in Kentucky.
Seniors recognized at the banquet, who will also be honor graduates were: Jacob Anglin, Wesley Bearden, Cheyenne Bennett, Morgan Bennett, John Branson, Art Brown, Ethan Brown, Sara Dare, Rush Davenport, Rachel Dotson, Lauren Elzey, Jacob Evans, Erin Gordon, Stephen Johnson, Zach Johnson, Matthew Kellar, Tyler King, Maressa Langway, Kyle Maciolek, Cody McGinnis, Natalie Parker, Luke Parks, Callie Pruett, Nickie Renfroe, Brandon Samples, Amanda Sheriff, Megan Todd, Amelia Turner, Levi Wilson and Zach Yarbrough.
Other seniors presented certificates for their four years of outstanding hard work were: Ashley Avery, Timothy Blythe, Savannah Browder, Jaziel Bustamante, Mason Cox, Andy Crawford, Sydney Crumley, Sam Edwards, Josh Harper, Andrew Hinton, Kaleb Holbrook, Matt Jerzewski, Preston Lewis, Casey McGinnis, Eian Perry, Amzie Pittman, Katie Pritchard, Katie Pulley, Bruce Rayner, Cody Reidling, Emma Salmela, Matthew Satterfield, Brigid Scully and Luke Williamson.


  • Bookmark and Share

Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.


Football preview: Forsyth C...
DCES welcomes new volunteer...
Dawson County Emergency Ser...
Tigers show promise
Dawson County wide receiver...
Beats and brews: Music fest...
Volunteer Laura Altman taps...
Brazen thieves hit resort c...
A mid-90s Chevrolet pickup ...
School system continues tra...
From left, Director of Fina...

Contents of this site are © Copyright 2015 Dawsonnews, Dawsonville, GA. All rights reserved. Privacy policy and Terms of service

Powered by
Morris Technology
Please wait ...