View Mobile Site
  • Bookmark and Share


Gilreath named second-team all area

Bearden receives honorable mention

POSTED: June 29, 2010 3:45 p.m.
File photo/

Tiger baseball player Chase Gilreath was selected second team All-Area by the Gainesville Times last week. Gilreath will play college baseball at Columbus State next season.

View Larger

Chase Gilreath has been named second team All-Area by the Gainesville Times. The Tiger senior will continue his baseball career at the collegiate level next year at Columbus State.


As a senior last season, Gilreath batted .465 with seven homeruns and 38 RBIs. He also led the Tigers in pitching with an 8-2 record and a sparkling 2.59 ERA.


Tiger Olin Bearden, senior, was also named as an honorable mention in the outfield by the Times.


Jefferson’s Jake Fields was named player of the year, while Gainesville coach Jeremy Kemp was coach of the year.


Fields batted .628 with 16 home runs and 42 RBIs last season.


Named to the first team were: Fields (Jefferson), K.J. McAllister, Hunter Anglin, Sloan Strickland and Will Maddox (Gainesville), Drew Adams (East Hall), Luke Crumley and Chad Fulton (Lumpkin County), Ralston Cash (Lakeview Academy), Cory Sanderson (Flowery Branch), David Sosebee (White County) and Jacob Brewster (North Hall).


Second team all-area were:  Gilreath (Dawson County), Logan Pethel and Trae Wilson (Johnson), Taylor Simpson and Ross Biegler (Lakeview Academy), Max Everett (West Hall), Jackson Coker and Chris Stevens (North Hall), Dalton Everett (Union County).


Honorable mention were:


Pitchers: Carl Allen, Sr., Commerce, Jake Burnette, Jr., Buford, David Gonzalez, Soph., Gainesville, Chase Grizzle, Jr., Lumpkin County, Randall Otis, Sr., Lumpkin County.


Catcher: Jamie Ritchie Jr., Buford.


First base: Andrew Bartek, Soph., Jefferson, Greg Hayes, Sr., Commerce, Adam Hooper, Jr., White County, Zach Stricher, Sr., Jackson County.


Second base: Scott Chewning, Jr., Chestatee, Brian Cox, Sr., Riverside.


Third base: Kyle Hardy Sr., Jefferson, Hunter Poole, Soph., East Hall, Jonathan Whitehead, Jr., Lumpkin Co.


Shortstop: Will Anderson, Soph., Lumpkin County, Kevin Clifford, Sr., Chestatee, Michael Crespo, Jr., Riverside, Hayden Cummins, Jr., White County, Blake Gowder, Sr., Union County, Lucas Redd, Sr., Jefferson, Rob Williams, Sr., Jackson County.


Outfield: Olin Bearden, Sr., Dawson County, Avery Dodd, Sr., Habersham Central, Greg Edwards, Sr., East Hall, Quin Grogan, Soph., Jackson County, Brian Kerekes, Sr., Riverside, Michael Lorentz, Jr., Gainesville, Zach Odom, Fr., Union County, Zack Sisk, Sr., Chestatee, Dylan Stowe, Sr., Buford.

Utility: Ryan Griffith, Soph., Gainesville, Josh Heddinger, Jr., Buford, Stephen Mason, Soph., Gainesville. Brady McCarter, Sr., Union County, Austin Robinson, Soph., Jackson County.



  • Bookmark and Share

Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.


Floats needed for parade
There's still time to be in...
Community invited to free T...
Volunteers are serving free...
Thanksgiving serves up trad...
Ben Robinson and Kelsey Cag...
Commissioners to work with ...
Uniformed and plainclothes ...
Man killed in weekend shooting
Pictured with one of his wi...
Science night aims to get k...
Sam Smith guides the hover ...
Sanders best in the state
Dawson County High School s...
Elliott wins Nationwide cha...
Chase Elliott’s crew works ...


Contents of this site are © Copyright 2014 Dawsonnews, Dawsonville, GA. All rights reserved. Privacy policy and Terms of service

Powered by
Morris Technology
Please wait ...