View Mobile Site
  • Bookmark and Share

Most Popular Articles

There are no articles at this time.

Track team hosts Amicalola Invitational

POSTED: March 25, 2014 4:32 p.m.
Ryan Coker Dawson Community News/

Tiger Ben Umberger leaps a hurdle in last week’s Amicalola Invitational.

View Larger
View More »

Dawson County played host to the annual Amicalola Invitational track meet March 22.

Five schools ran in the event, including Dawson County, Gainesville, Fannin County, North Forsyth and Forsyth Central.

Gainesville won both the boys' and girls' team titles on Saturday. The girls' team accumulated 209.5 points. Dawson County finished in second place with 146.5 team points.

On the boys' side, Gainesville scored 217.5 points, narrowly ousting second place finisher North Forsyth with 204.5 team points.

Results from the Lady Tigers were: First-place medal winners: Faith Sinclair (1,600-meters); Katelynn Simpson (300-meters hurdles); Savannah Haberkam (shot put and discus).

Second-place medals were awarded to: 4x100 meter relay team; Bailey Cotter (800-meters); 4x400 relay; Tatum Bales (discus).

In third-place was Melanie Rimawi and Taylor Grindstaff (1,600-meters); Katelynn Simpson (100-meters) and Iris Delira (1,600-meters).

Coming in fourth place were Melanie Rimawi (800-meters); Cassidy Lecours (3,200-meters); Sadie Hardesty (100-meters); 4x100 meter relay team; Ashton Abbott (discus); Allie Phillips (1,600-meters).

Also participating for Dawson County were: Camryn Geiger, Tara Orr and Ansley Costley (100-meters), Camryn Geiger, Kaila Billingsley and Tara Orr (200-meters); Caroline Lee and Ansley Costley (400-meters); Faith Sinclair (800-meters); Bailey Cotter (1,600-meters); Nicole Chumbley and Dana Little (3,200-meters); Sage Fitts (300-meter hurdles); Simpson and Jordan Moore (high jump): Little (pole vault); Cotter, Nichole Chumbley and Kaila Billingsley (long jump), Orr (triple jump); Bales and Ashton Abbott (shot put).

For the boys' team capturing first-place ribbons were: Spencer Cutts (1,600-meters); and Rhys Adams (pole vault).

In second-place was Brian Colin (800-meters).

Taking fourth place for the Tigers were: 4x100-meter relay team; Armando Jimenez (800-meters); Avery Cowart (3,200-meters); 4x400-meter relay team; Ryan Jones (discus).

Also contributing for Dawson County were: A.J. Thomas, Hunter Mitchell and Scotty Zadernak (100-meters); Mason Carr, Ben Drew and Drew Keller (200-meters); Adams, Chris Hammon, Harrison Adams (400-meters); Ben Umberger (400-meters); Armando Jimenez, Avery Cowart, Brandon Barker (1,600-meters); Doug O'Brien, Spencer Cutts (3,200-meters); Eric Leonard, Dalton Edwards (110-meter hurdles); Dalton Edwards, Ben Umberger, Chris Rodriguez (300-meter hurdles); 4x400-meters relay team; Dalton Edwards, Eric Leonard, Brandon Abbott (high jump); Josh Woody, Gabe Cowart (pole vault); Keller, Carr, Drew (long jump); Harrison Adams, Carr (triple jump); A.J. Thomas, Cole Smith, Isaac Rice (shot put); and Rice and Cole Smith (discus).



  • Bookmark and Share

Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.


DCA loses season opener
Senior wide receiver Matt C...
Lady Tigers handle West Hall
Kaila Billingsley goes afte...
First home test for Lady Ti...
Roxie Fricton goes up to bl...
‘We have been waiting on this’
The offensive unit takes sn...
Softball team starts with m...
Senior Kaila Billingsley he...
Volleyball season underway
Kaylee Sticker and Roxie Fr...
Junior varsity softball ope...
Pitcher Mia Cranford crosse...

Please wait ...