View Mobile Site
  • Bookmark and Share

Player named to all-region

North Hall, Buford dominate selections

POSTED: June 18, 2013 4:08 p.m.
File photo/

David Chester from Dawson County was selected to the First Team All-Region squad as voted on by coaches in Region 7-AAA. Chester played for coach Jimmy Pruett at Dawson County High School.

View Larger

The 2013 7-AAA Region baseball team was announced last week. The team is selected by region coaches.

North Hall dominated the first team with seven players being selected.

The Trojans were region champions and lost in the state championship series to Cartersville.

North Hall finished the season with a 32-6 record.

Buford had five players selected to the first team. The Wolves, under coach Tony Wolfe, were Region 7-AAA runners-up before bowing out of the state playoffs in the first round.

Dawson County senior David Chester was named to the first team. Chester will continue his career at Georgia Highlands College next season.

The senior batted .262 this season with 22 hits in 84 at bats. He also scored 18 runs, with seven walks, two sacrifices, four hit by pitch and stole 13 of 14 bases.

Joining Chester on the first team are catcher Joey Bart, Buford, first baseman Colton Duttweiler, North Hall, at second base, Zach Mize, North Hall, shortstop Andrew Smith, North Hall, at third base Griffin Olson, North Hall, utility infielders Jake Mayo, Buford and White County's Stetson Gearin.

In the outfield are Adam Kelly, North Hall, Partick Burnette, Buford, Jake Higgin­botham, Buford and Cameron Johnson, West Hall.

First team pitchers are Preston Graham, North Hall, Colton Duttweiler, North Hall, Jake Higginbotham, Buford, Spencer Adams, White County and Josh Bryan from Buford.

Utility player Will Flowers from White County was also named to the team.

The Region 7-AAA pitcher of the year was North Hall's Preston Graham.

Coach of the year went to Tony Mongero from North Hall.

Brett Westmoreland from White County was named hitter of the year.

Tiger first baseman Logan Burt was selected to the second team by region coaches.

Also named to the second team were: catcher Lincoln Stubbs, West Hall, Matthew Hambrick, White County, shortstop Spencer Adams, White County, third base Josh Bryan, Buford, outfielders Michael Cronic, West Hall, Jordan Grey, Fannin County, McCoy Savage, North Hall and Joel Pritchett, White County.

Region coaches named Lincoln Hewett, North Hall, as designated hitter, utility player Jacob Cash from East Hall and infielders Hunter Buffington, East Hall, and Austin Upshaw from Buford.

The second team pitching staff was made up of Adam Kelly, North Hall, Zach English, West Hall, Blake Thomas, White County, Connor Bennett, Buford, and Jake Hagwood from East Hall.



  • Bookmark and Share

Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.


Progress 2015
Pick up a copy of this week...
Republicans salute Churchil...
Around Back at Rocky’s Plac...
Tigers outlast West Hall
Lady Tiger Camryn Geiger sp...
Tigers stay on top in regio...
Freshman Dennis Pyetsukh sc...
Tigers host teams before tr...
Jakob Scoggins clears a hur...
Week highlights children of...
Students from the school di...
Intersection update irks bu...
Transportation representati...
Spring has sprung
Regenia Leuenberger has bee...
Tigers take down East Hall
Dillard Blanton smashes a f...

Contents of this site are © Copyright 2015 Dawsonnews, Dawsonville, GA. All rights reserved. Privacy policy and Terms of service

Powered by
Morris Technology
Please wait ...