View Mobile Site
  • Bookmark and Share


Racing hall of fame inducts new class

Names local teen volunteer of the year

POSTED: October 31, 2012 4:00 a.m.
Michele Hester Dawson Community News/

Brandon Reed presents Cody Dinsmore with the 2012 Georgia Racing Hall of Fame Volunteer of the Year award Friday night during the group’s annual induction ceremony.

View Larger

The Georgia Racing Hall of Fame celebrated its 2012 class of inductees Friday night in Dawsonville.

Selected for their contributions to Georgia's motorsport's heritage, the new class of inductees includes Pete Hamilton, Bill Ingram, Warren Johnson, Doug Kenimer and Herman Wise.

Also recognized during the ceremony were several individuals, including a local teen, for their work in preserving Georgia's racing history.

Cody Dinsmore, 16, of Dawsonville, was named the Georgia Racing Hall of Fame 2012 Volunteer of the Year.

On average, Dinsmore spends between 20 and 30 hours each week volunteering after school at the racing museum.

"Georgia's racing history is unique to our community. This is something I'll never get tired of," he said.

The racing hall of fame also announced Shane Clanton as the 2012 Driver of the Year, presented Capt. Herb Emory with the inaugural Jimmy Mosteller Award and awarded longtime supporter and racing historian Mike Bell with the Annie Dean Samples Spirit Award.



  • Bookmark and Share

Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.


History preserved
Mike Miller and Mike Little...
Families gear up for back t...
Brandy Phillips helps her s...
Tanner named legislator of ...
David Dodson chairman of th...
Team prepares for start of ...
A trio of Lady Tigers cross...
Lumpkin Campmeeting this week
Corbi Hicks, left, and cous...
Humane Society boutique opens
Store volunteer Betsy Conno...
Goodwill opens
George Staska, right, senio...


Contents of this site are © Copyright 2014 Dawsonnews, Dawsonville, GA. All rights reserved. Privacy policy and Terms of service

Powered by
Morris Technology
Please wait ...